investmentsfull.blogg.se

Outlook for mac v16 running very slow
Outlook for mac v16 running very slow






outlook for mac v16 running very slow
  1. #Outlook for mac v16 running very slow update#
  2. #Outlook for mac v16 running very slow plus#
  3. #Outlook for mac v16 running very slow download#

For smaller mailboxes or ones without too many folders, maybe this is OK, but as the mailbox grows, it adds considerable time to the sync.

#Outlook for mac v16 running very slow download#

The default setting when adding a new IMAP email account is for the Download complete items including attachments for subscribed folders to be ON. I don't know how much this impacts the speed. On this screen I also unchecked Get folder unread count for subscribed folders since that was recommended in a lot of search results I found. Back on the main Outlook screen, if a folder is clicked, it shows Synching folder xyz at the bottom of the screen and then updates that folder in real time to see any recent additions or deletions in the folder. This way ALL of the subscribed folders don't get synched when the sync happens. I chose the second setting and then selected ONLY the Inbox. One is for Download complete items including attachments for subscribed folders and the other is for Use the custom behavior defined below. I'll see how things work during the day tomorrow.Īfter playing around with all the settings in Outlook, there is a setting/checkbox in Define Send/Receive Groups -> Edit -> Receive mail items. If it needs to be moved by the mods, please do so.

outlook for mac v16 running very slow

I can't find a group for this question besides "General". Ironically iOS devices seem to work fine synching with the account. I've checked about 20-30 different links via Google searches and implemented all the "fixes" so I'm looking for any obscure off the wall fixes and not the generic fixes that are plastered all over the place out there. I'm not sure if the second computer was running Outlook when I tested, but perhaps the first Outlook that connects has better speed and the second and subsequent Outlooks connects to the same account get slow. One thought I just had is that maybe if more than one Outlook is synching with the account, that can cause it to be slow. I don't know why Gmail has so much of a time overhead to sync. In general, with Outlook and Microsoft Exchange via Office 365, once a sync is done, syncs are very low overhead. These aren't options at this point so I'm hoping there is a magic bullet that will make things run more smoothly. That's why I tell clients to either use the gmail web interface or switch to something else. I know Outlook and IMAP Gmail isn't the best matched pair. Most of the time when I have clients trying to use Outlook and Gmail, I just move the client to something else like Office 365 Exchange, but this client doesn't want to use/get their own domain name and wants to stay with the accounts. There are quite a few folders (maybe 30-40) but per above, this account works OK on another computer and all the settings are identical with the exception that Outlook is 2016 and not 2019. The mailbox used to be 11GB and we removed older emails so it's only about 3.6GB now. Internet speed it good - cable modem at about 100Mbps down and 17Mbps up.

#Outlook for mac v16 running very slow update#

I've set it not to update unread count and several other possible tweaks. I've turned off Starred, Snoozed and Important folders for IMAP. I've set Gmail to only allow synching of 1000 items in each folder. I've gone through selective folder synching and only synching/subscribing to the Inbox.

outlook for mac v16 running very slow

This other computer has Outlook 2016 and not the newer 2019 v1906 that's on the new computer, but the old laptop of problematic user also had Outlook 2016 and had problems. While it's a little slow, it's much more responsive than the main user of the problematic email account.

#Outlook for mac v16 running very slow plus#

The weird thing is that another computer being used in the office has another 2 gmail accounts plus this problematic account and it seems to be able to send and fetch WHILE the sync is in progress. His old laptop did something similar with outgoing email taking a while to initiate sending or for new email to get fetched and they thought a new computer would fix it. Once the sync completes, outgoing mail sends and incoming mail comes in, but then it will sync again and no mail transfers until it's done. I've set the sync interval to 1 minute or 5 minutes or 30 minutes. I've tried unsubscribing to all the folders but the Inbox. I'm pretty familiar with the way Outlook and Gmail work and have had problems with it in the past as many people do (as evidenced by all the problem posts found on Google). Sometimes it starts over and sometimes it goes up to 8 minutes. The problem is that in the status box, it shows synchronizing subscribed folders and usually shows about 2 minutes. I'm familiar with all the basics like turning on IMAP in Gmail (which was already on since he's been using the account already with his old computer and Outlook). I set up a new computer with Outlook 2016/2019 and connect to his existing account in IMAP mode. I have a client using regular email accounts.








Outlook for mac v16 running very slow